Racing Legends

More threads by 260ebenz

sean sherry

Master
without a doubt this Video is the best I have ever seen.
Having been at the Ulster Grand Prix when Moss won in a Jaguar and also seeing Moss and Fangio race Mercedes with the Air Brake when I was an Apprentice Mechanic from 1950 on.. The mechanic I was apprenticed to was a Flag Marshal at all the Races on the Dundrod Circuit in the hills above Belfast, so I got to see them all till 1956 when I left to come here. I also remember seeing Moss win driving a Norton Engined Keif ( ? ) at an Airfield Circuit near the old Ards Grand Prix Circuit. He won that too. That was probably before he got the Jaguar contract. A long time ago !

Great days , also with the bikes , Goff Duke and Reggie Armstrong on the Italian 4 cyl Gilera at the Northwest and the old Claddy Circuit with the 7 mile straight. Manx Nortons won there as the Claddy straight was very undulating, The Gileras taking off as they were very light compare to the heavy Nortons which although 30 MPH slower, they stayed on the ground !
The younger people will have to Goggle the Nth Ireland Circuits of yesterday year. i.e. the Fifties , a wonderful time to grow up in.....

Sean

Styria

The Godfather
Sean, you are lucky that you have been part of that era which has so many romantics when you look back. Moss of course, was the best GP driver never having won a Formula 1 championship, but his driving skills were one that legends were made of - and he's even still charming them today.

Racing in Ireland - unfortunately, thus far I have only ever seen videos of bike races at the Ulster circuit, and one really has to dip their hats at the courage with which the riders face up to possible adversity in those races. Them Irish lads...gotta give it to them. Regards Styria

sean sherry

Master