Fangio and the 6.9

More threads by Oversize

OP
Oversize

Oversize

Grand Master
More pix of Skye not long after purchase.
CIMG0640.JPGCIMG0712.JPGCIMG0721.JPGCIMG0744.JPGCIMG0745.JPGCIMG0720.JPGCIMG0741.JPGCIMG0740.JPG
CIMG0735.JPGCIMG0688.JPG

Last edited:
OP
Oversize

Oversize

Grand Master
Part of the article published in the latest MBCV edition of ATB:

Well this story had many twists and turns along the way, so I hope I don’t miss anything during the next few articles. Of course the best place to start is at the very beginning…

Part 1 – The Journey Begins.

So I’ve mentioned before that I was a Mercedes Benz Technician with Silver Star Motors in Doncaster. Back in 1988 all of the crew would almost fall over each other competing for the opportunity to work on a hero model if one happened to be brought into the workshop for attention. Everyone knew that if it was a major service they’d get to ride shotgun in the car during the test drive when the work was completed. Of course one of those few iconic models was the 450SEL 6.9. Even 10 years after it was released in Australia, we were all captivated by the legend and excited to witness the technology that was incorporated into each vehicle. The thought of actually driving one was far beyond out-of-reach.