Restrictive Air Filter Assemblies

More threads by Oversize

Oversize

Grand Master
Anyone else think about the fact that a good portion of the K Jet air cleaners are completely ineffective? That can't be good for airflow or power....

Attachments

• Ineffective air filter.jpg
    Ineffective air filter.jpg
    377.9 KB · Views: 20

Andrew280SEL

I'm not technically knowledgeable enough on the matter to say either way, but I have considered going the K&N aftermarket route in the past. Supposed to be better.

sean sherry

Master
I would think that an Air Cleaner plonked on top of an engine and drawing hot Air from high up in the Engine compartment can't be very efficient irrespective of the type of filter element.
On the 107 SLs fitted with a 110 DOHC Six Mercedes located the Air Cleaner low down to the side of the Radiator to avoid this issue.
My understanding is that for every 2% rise in ambient Temperature , an Engine losses 1 H.P.
Jaguar did the same thing with their E Types with the Air cleaner on the side of the Engine drawing cool Air.
Both our modern cars a C Class and a Mk V11 Golf have cold air intakes , std.

CraigS

It is interesting with my Ranchero. It was a California car, and as such, they have stricter emission standards than the rest of America. On all other US State versions, the air cleaner ends at the snorkel in much the same way as the 450SEL does, drawing warm/hot air from the engine bay. My California version Ranchero however continues the snorkel through a concertina hose to a plastic duct that draws cold air from the front of the car beside the inner guard.

BenzBoy

Grand Master
I would think that an Air Cleaner plonked on top of an engine and drawing hot Air from high up in the Engine compartment can't be very efficient irrespective of the type of filter element.
On the 107 SLs fitted with a 110 DOHC Six Mercedes located the Air Cleaner low down to the side of the Radiator to avoid this issue.