Clutch problems - C180M - W202

More threads by s class

s class

My wife drives a 1994 W202 c180 manual. I am suspicious that the clutch is on its last legs, but I have very little experience with manual shift cars.

The symptoms - when pulling off gently from a stop, as one lets the clutch out, the first bit goes OK, then it shudders quite a bit, then its OK as it reaches the top of its range. Its not an issue of not being able to drive a manual - when we first got the car I could let the clutch out perfectly smoothly with no shudder- buts its getting steadily worse.

Ideas?

John S

The symptom described could be coming from a number of things, such as dodgy engine mounts to a worn clutch or even oil on the clutch. Is it getting worse very slowly or is a change noticeable from day to day? What is the mileage? Has the clutch been replaced already or had any work done on it since new?

OP
s class

s class

Hi John,

The car shows 234 000km. We bought it only about 2000km ago. It has had all its scheduled services at the main dealer, but I have no information on other work that may have been done. At that mileage, I would have to assume it cannot be the original clutch - surely not?

I didn't think of oil - the car has no external leaks - perhaps there's an inspection plate that can be opened.

Engine mounts are another possibility I didn't think of. I'm guessing it must have the newer style hydraulic items like the W140's.

OP
s class

s class

Another thought that may be relevant - the symptoms are almost completely absent whe the car is cold, and only appear when it is up to temp, especially in traffic.

ANd as to your earlier question - no its not getting significantly worse from one day to the next - its just slowly steadily becoming an issue. When we bought the car, there was just the slightest hint of it, now its all the time.

WGB

Oil on the clutch or engine mounts would be my first thought.