Bosch D-Jetronic Fuel injection 1974 280 SE W116

More threads by Jimb

Jimb

Distinguished
Hello again from Jim(Jimb).
My car is running fine no problems ,the motor is very sweet no oil leaks etc.
To many this may appear to be a ridicules post. Should I be worried about the complexity of this early electronic system in the terms of reliability? Should I just drive and enjoy this car instead of finding things to worry about? By trade I was an electronic tech covering many areas over my working life. I guess I am concerned if I took it on a long trip the fuel injection could fail. I have no idea where all the bits are and the diagnostic process . I believe the later system was less complex. Can it be converted to the later system if need be?
It would be unheard of to even suggest converting it to the standard non injected form, I suppose the cylinder head as well as the intake manifold would need to replaced and cost wise to achieve less performance but greater reliability would be out of the question. The electronics would be the old style discreet components with non of the nasty surface mount and large scale intergration stuff,so it should be fixable however I suspect this part is reliable it is the other stuff that I do not understand that is likely to be the scary stuff. Any thoughts on this? Regards Jim

c107

and 111/116/124/126
Hello again from Jim(Jimb).
My car is running fine no problems ,the motor is very sweet no oil leaks etc.