Anyone have much experience with the older Mercedes diesels?

More threads by Andrew280SEL

Andrew280SEL

AKA my guilty desire thread :)

If anyone was to ask me what car I would buy today, given the opportunity and $$$, my response may surprise - it would be an old Mercedes diesel, something like a W123 240D or 300D or maybe even a W124 300D since I discovered they actually exist. Obviously I'd probably love a W116 variant, but they were only offered in the USA, correct me if I'm wrong. Plus you'd need a pretty beefy diesel engine to pull the W116 bulk I imagine.

I've had this strange fixation with them for a while now and I've watched countless YouTube videos of the classic W123 diesels etc and I love even the sound of the engine, both at idle and acceleration, and just how simple and robust the engines even look.

It's not just because they being a diesel, they're "different" as such. I've had plenty of experience with various diesel engines in my lifetime (working on a farm will do that too!) so I'm no stranger to them.

However, my local Mercedes man once told me to stick with the petrol variants of these older Mercs, saying the diesels are "too old" now and need too much maintenance and even use more juice than the petrol 4 cylinders.

Yet everything I see online, whether it be videos or reading peoples posts online in Merc forums, seems to contradict this quite heavily.

How about the fine people on TK? Any opinions on these cars?
I'm not kidding when I say I want one. I REALLY want to get one and would need a bit of convincing not to.