'73 450SE - vacuum line to transmission modulator?

More threads by a5a1234

a5a1234

Hello All,

I have a very basic question, which I have tried unsuccessfully to answer by looking at the Chilton and Haynes manuals, and at the service manual CD-ROM for my '73 450SE. I am just learning about my car, and so I hope you won't mind the basic level of this...

Where is the vacuum line that runs to the transmission modulator? I suspect a vacuum leak, since I am only pulling about 13" Hg at idle (at the Y-connection that connects to the central locking near the fire-wall). I have replaced the vacuum line from the MAP sensor to the manifold (it had dry-rotted), and the rubber connection in the middle of the vacuum advance line (just to be sure). I have read that I should also look at the vacuum line that leads to the transmission modulator. The only line I can find that looks like it might be the correct one is stainless steel. It runs from the back of the engine (near the MAP sensor line connection, and the take-off for the central locking) and runs down towards the gearbox. Is this the correct line? If so, were these lines steel in the early model 116s? Is there a rubber connection further down at the gear-box (I tried to see underneath this evening, but couldn't get far enough under)

I should note that I have adjusted the dwell angle, the points gap and the timing and all are now to spec. I have replaced the spark plugs and the air filter. Spark plug leads were replaced by the PO, within the last few years. Idle is set just below 800 rpm when warmed up.

Thanks for your time, and for any advice you can offer.

Joe

TJ 450